The Five Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages

One of the biggest banes of a marriage is the absence of love. Many couples have experienced terrible fallings-out because one or the other feels unloved and underappreciated.
What husbands and wives often fail to realize is that people express, interpret, and expect love in different ways. Often times, a marriage is not entirely loveless, it is just that one loves in a language that the other does not understand.
According to marriage counselor Dr. Gary Chapman, people speak five different love languages:
Words of Affirmation. Some people need to hear the words “I love you” constantly. Unsolicited compliments are also always welcome while insults and other negative words leave them inconsolable.
Quality Time. There are people who believe that undivided attention and spending time together is the sincerest form of expressing love. It is disappointing for them when dates get postponed or their partners get easily distracted.
Receiving Gifts. For people who speak this love language, love is best expressed with thoughtful gifts that aren’t necessarily expensive. Sometimes, a simple card is enough as long as their significant other exerts effort.
Acts of Service. Those who express love through acts of service often aim to ease the burden of responsibilities for their better half. This can be as straightforward as loading the dishwasher or mowing the lawn.
Physical Touch. This isn’t confined to intimacy in the bedroom. This can include holding hands, pats on the back, hugs, and any thoughtful touches.

250 250 abbelang

Leave a Reply

Start Typing